The Infestation

I woke up in my subterranean home like any other day, except it wasn’t like this before the apocalypse. I was in my twenties when it happened, scientists were working on a cure for cancer, when a scientist that posted his works on social media recorded himself using the cure on a worm. The influencer let the worm escape, and reproduced with another, which kept the chemicals. The new worm started to grow teeth on its body, and eyes, like a human has, It grew to 20 times its own length, and became five times as thick in diameter. The worms grew into the worst invasive species in the world, and seemed interest in human meat. The containment was far too difficult, and the world fell in to chaos.

I fumigated my home for the morning, I do it each day with a poison my body is immune to, but the worms aren’t, sort of like a pesticide, but meant to keep out other humans too.

I went outside for supplies, The landscape looked normal on the outside, but the horror began when you stepped on the dirt. I walked slowly to the farm I made, and picked carrots as a snack. I walked onto the cracked roads, and began heading to the junkyard. At about half way there, I stopped moving. There I saw pure horror in front of my eyes. I was perplexed seeing the giant worm. I picked up a piece of cut glass from my backpack, and charged at the creature! It jumped at me, but I cut it in half. I heard a noise from my backpack, and took out my radio, when I heard the words coming from someone saying, “It’s finally over. Every single one of them is dead.” I didn’t question anything, and for the first time in ten years, smiled.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *